top of page

F L Y  F I S H I N G  G U I D E

F L Y R O D  B U I L D E R

Battling old man winter

Winter was bad here in PA, worst month statistically in PA history for the month of February actually.

But that didnt stop me from sucking it up and headed out to find open water. Sure it was cold and downright dangerous at times but i made it a point to go out as often as i could with nothing under 20 degrees and mother nature oblidged.

I am new to the nymphing game... quite frankly im new to nymphing and winter fishing to be honest. I always thought fishing season started on "opening day" and thats further from the truth!

My experience was very favorable this winter and it gives me hope to learn more each day as an angler to complete my arsenal. I am now somewhat confident that when fish are refusing dries on top, I will have a better go to tactic to reach them sub surface.

In my short unbiased experience with winter fishing, it was all about timing, and persistance. Most importantly acceptance of failure.. I was blanked a few times this winter, and i was blessed with double digit days on the water.

I learned that if you are not hitting bottom you are not getting into the majority of the feeding zones of the fish i was after.. Thats not to say you have to be snagging bottom on every single drift but if you are not relative to where the fish are in these cold temps they wont be so inviting to chase your presentation so to speak and need to make adjustments on the fly (pardon the pun)

Lastly, go where the fishermen are not. I know it sounds funny but if you are willing to walk the extra hundred yards, quarter mile, half mile.. you will be rewarded with eager fish! Some of my best trips this year resulted in multiple miles of trail beating in the snow.. Some snow was almost a foot deep and was very taxing on the body, but well worth it througout the day.

My second post will feature a collage of pictures from this winter in preparation for the spring season.

Tight lines,

Chris aka "Slinger"

blog1.jpg

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page